MP Zimmer Honours Recipients of Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medallions

FORT ST. JOHN – Bob Zimmer, Member of Parliament for Prince George-Peace River-Northern Rockies, issued the following statement after a week spent presenting local residents with a unique numbered Queen’s Platinum Jubilee medallion in recognition of their contributions to our region:

“This year, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II has marked 70 years of service, becoming the first British monarch to celebrate a platinum jubilee. To honour this milestone, I asked local residents to nominate a first responder, veteran, volunteer, or someone who makes a positive impact in our community and deserves recognition.

“The recipients of these 70 unique medallions represent what our region is all about. We care about our neighbours, friends, and community and we are always there for one another.

“It was an honour to present these medallions to so many deserving unsung heroes throughout the region and to see these leaders in our community get the recognition they so rightly deserve. Congratulations once again to all recipients!”

The following residents received their medallions this week:

Prince George Ceremony – August 15

Cassandra PremackCommunity Service
Doreen DenicolaCommunity Service
Lorraine ProuseCommunity Service
Penny JonesFirst Responder
Katherine CarlsonCommunity Service
Cristian SilvaVeteran and Community Service
Darrel ThompsonFirst Responder and Military
Chuck ChinCommunity Service
Brett WilsonCommunity Service
Dave HortonCommunity Service
Charles ScottCommunity Service
Dan McLarenCommunity Service
Donna FloodHealth Care
Neil WilkinsonCommunity Service
Eric DepenauMilitary and Community Service
Eva GillisCommunity Service
Dick MynenCommunity Service
David HrubyFirst Responder
Glen StanleyCommunity Service
Tanya RichFirst Responder
Curtis PawliukSport and Conservation
Pete PearsonCommunity Service
Adele BarnesCommunity Service
Shannon BezoCommunity Service
Kim GuthrieCommunity Service
Lynda MorelandCommunity Service

Dawson Creek Ceremony – August 16

David WardVeteran
Ernie HellerFirst Responder
Max PohlCommunity Service
Shelagh GlibberyCommunity Service
Christina WardsCommunity Service
Paige WardsCommunity Service
Paul GevatkoffCommunity Service
Ben SanderCommunity Service
Don BourassaCommunity Service
Kiel DavorenFirst Responder
Mark RogersCommunity Service and Sport
Glenn MillerVeteran and Community Service
Stacey MaitlandCommunity Service
Rose SnyderCommunity Service
Lee CookFirst Responder

Fort St. John Ceremony – August 17

Alyn StobbeFirst Responder
Coral PimmCommunity Service
Denise StagerEducation and Community Service
Larry EvansFirst Responder and Community Service
Jim and Margaret LittleCommunity Service and Conservation
Pat FerrisCommunity Service and Sport
Lori SlaterCommunity Service
Shane StirlingCommunity Service
Jared BraunCommunity Service
Mike KingVeteran
Len PotvinCommunity Service and Sport
Shelley and Doug GallingerCommunity Service
Dr. Mark ThomsonHealth Care
Christopher SystadMilitary and First Responder
Joan KinzettCommunity Service
Blayne StreeperSport

Mr. Zimmer also presented a medallion to Connie Patterson at the 100th Annual Dawson Creek Exhibition and Stampede on August 12 for her service to the community.

Arrangements are being made to present those who were unable to attend the three events with their medallions at a later date. The final 12 recipients are:

Bob TrobakSport and Community Service
Neil EvansHealth Care
Wade MathisonSport
Danny SchildsSport
Pat O’ReillySport
Mike MulvahillConservation
Colin BissellFirst Responder
Pete AmyoonyCommunity Service
Matt MorisonWildfire Support/Search and Rescue
Garry FormanWildfire Support/Search and Rescue
Jim Salisbury (posthumously)Community Service
Douglas Beale (posthumously)First Responder


Photos from the three events can be found here.

For more information:

Office of Bob Zimmer, MP

(613) 947-4524